Aviation Exam


Aviation exam is an examination for becoming a pilot. This examination normally can be done through EASA. Before entering the examination, the candidates need to study some module. For example B1.1 Aircraft Maintenance Engineer Module, B1.3 Helicopter Maintenance Engineer Module and B2 Avionics Maintenance Engineer Module. You can get all of this module through Easaquestions or you may contact them by visiting their website.

aviation examination

Theoretical Aviation Exams

All CPLs are required to have a Class 1 Medical issued by the country where they wish to be employed. So, if you do your training in the U.S. but plan to fly in France, you will need to get a Class 1 Medical issued in France. You must have a valid EASA Medical. Even though you’ve passed all the required exams to earn your CPL in the U.S. to FAA and ICAO standards, EASA requires you to follow an approved course of study for the 14 EASA theoretical Airline Transport Pilot License (ATPL) exams before you can do any practical training. You can do this on site in full-time classes or by distance learning using a computer. You will be glad to know that the material they cover in the theoretical exams is very similar to what you have already learned. You can work on your theoretical exams here at Epic, although you will complete your EASA when you return home.

Flight  Requirements

In order for you to be eligible for the EASA Conversion Career Program you need to have a valid ICAO CPL and the following:

  • 150 hours total time
  • 80 hours of dual instruction
  • 70 hours PIC if you did your training as a part of an integrated program or 100 hours PIC if you did your training as a part of a modular program
  • 50 hours of cross-country flight as PIC
  • Night Rating
  • Valid ICAO ME/IR ratings
  • 55 hours IFR ME or 40 hours FNPT II and 15 hours IFR ME

CPL Conversion Aviation Exam

Converting your CPL will vary slightly depending on the country, but it should average approximately 15 flight hours of standard maneuvers. Your skills test must be taken with a CAA examiner in a complex piston aircraft. This lasts approximately 2 hours. Note that navigation and communications may pose a challenge if you are unfamiliar with the area. If you speak English as a second language, you will likely be required to have your English skills assessed to make sure you meet the ICAO minimum standard of Level 4 (on a scale of 1 to 6).

Multi-Engine Piston (MEP) Conversion

Most pilots obtain their Multi-Engine in a multi-engine piston aircraft. If you do not have 100 hours experience in an MEP aircraft, the CAA may deny your current class rating and require you to complete a conversion in this class rating by taking a course that includes approximately 7 or 8 flight hours. This course will include a skills test and written exam. The written exam is overseen by the Approved Training Organization (ATO) where you are taking your course.

Conclusion of Aviation Exam

We encourage you to do your research ahead of time before beginning the EASA aviation exam. Learn about specific airlines’ hiring requirements. Find out about the country where you want to fly. Research the ATOs there that oversee the process. Read their online reviews from other pilots. Ask other pilots. Taking the time to research ahead of time can save you time, money, and a lot of trouble. Here’s wishing you many happy hours flying in the country of your choice!


Leave a Comment